Loading Events

« All Events

Tell the Mayor No Hostile Corporate Takeover of HISD

December 11 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Free

Come to City Council to demand the city to BACK OFF of a corporate takeover plan for four black and brown HISD schools.

Sign up to speak for Tuesday afternoon Public Session by calling the City Secretary’s office at 832.393.1100, sending an email to citysecretary@houstontx.gov or coming by the office on the public level of the City Hall Annex, 900 Bagby, Houston 77002 by 1:30 p.m. that Tuesday.

If you cannot attend, contact your district rep, the five at large reps, and the mayor’s office (contact info at the bottom of this description).

THE FACTS
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The City of Houston has established a “nonprofit” astroturfed special interest group with the doublespeak title “Coalition for Educational Excellence and Equity in Houston”, designed to mask the hostile corporate takeover over HISD schools. The registered agent is Juliet Stipeche, the Mayor’s point person on education. The board comprises three wealthy right wing benefactors: Trini Mendenhall, Corbin Robertson Jr, and Stephanie Paige.

Paige is the education contact for ALEC, a right wing takeover group that disguises the self interest of the wealthy as the advancement of society through philanthropy. ALEC has a deep, well-documented public track record of establishing beachheads in education and other public sectors, dividing and conquering communities, and selling them for parts.

Robertson is a billionaire coal magnate known for expansive dark money efforts undermining climate research through fake advocacy to protect their bottom line by papering over steep environmental damage that disproportionately impacted poor communities in the United States.

These people have NO BUSINESS being anywhere NEAR anything that is supposed to be for the public good, much less in control of the future of our children.

City of Houston Contact Info
Mayor’s Office
(713) 697-9221

Twitter: @sylvesterturner
Press Secretary: @iammarybenton
Deputy Press Secretary: @tmakrivera

District A Councilmember Brenda Stardig
Phone: 832.393.3010
FAX; 832.393.3302
E-Mail: districta@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @brendastardig

District B Councilmember Jerry Davis
Phone: 832.393.3009
FAX; 832.393.3291
E-Mail: districtb@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @davisdistrictb

District C Councilmember and Mayor Pro-Tem Ellen Cohen
Phone: 832.393.3004
E-Mail: districtc@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @ellencohen

District D Councilmember Dwight Boykins
Phone: 832.393.3001
FAX; 832.393.3201
E-Mail: districtd@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @dwightboykins

District E Councilmember Dave Martin
Phone: 832.393.3008
FAX: 832.393.3279
E-Mail: districte@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @cmdavemartin

District F Councilmember Steve Le
Phone: 832.393.3002
E-Mail: districtf@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @SteveLe HTX

District G Councilmember Greg Travis
Phone: 832.393.3007
FAX; 832.395.9571
E-Mail: districtg@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @travisdistrictg

District H Councilmember Karla Cisneros
Phone: 832.393.3003
E-Mail: districth@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @karla4houston

District I Councilmember Robert Gallegos
Phone: 832.393.3011
E-Mail: districti@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @robertgallegosi

District J Councilmember Mike Laster
Phone: 832.393.3015
FAX; 832.395.9423
E-Mail: districtj@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @_mikelaster

District K Councilmember Martha Castex-Tatum
Phone: 832.393.3016
FAX: 832.395.9410
E-Mail: districtk@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @marthacastext

At-Large 1 Councilmember Mike Knox
Phone: 832.393.3014
FAX: 832.395.9472
E-Mail: atlarge1@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @mikeknox2015
At-Large 2 Councilmember David Robinson
Phone: 832.393.3013
FAX; 832.395.9455
E-Mail: atlarge2@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @dwr4hou

At-Large 3 Councilmember Michael Kubosh
Phone: 832.393.3005
FAX; 832.393.3251
E-Mail: atlarge3@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @kuboshmichael (Note: this account is protected).
At-Large 4 Councilmember Amanda Edwards
Phone: 832.393.3012
FAX; 832.393.3327
E-Mail: atlarge4@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @amanda4houston

At-Large 5 Councilmember Jack Christie
Phone: 832.393.3017
FAX; 832.395.9426
E-Mail: atlarge5@houstontx.gov
Twitter: @drjackchristie

Share this:

Details

Date:
December 11
Time:
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/335067787275179/

Organizers

Indivisible
Pantsuit Republic Houston
HISD Parent Advocates

Other

Food
None

Venue

Houston City Hall
901 Bagby Street
Houston, 77002
+ Google Map